Hoch leistungsfähige Beleuchtung

Programme/Projekte zur Elektrifizierung mit Hilfe von Sonnenenergie-Generatoren werden überall in ländlichen Gebieten der Entwicklungsländer durchgeführt. Generell sind Energieversorgungsnetze(Elektrizitäts-Versorgungsnetze) aufgrund entlegener Standorte, unpassierbarem Gelände und kostenaufwändigen Leitungsinstallationen nicht angemessen.

Obwohl viele unabhängige Systeme Energie für Kühlung, Radio und Fernsehen liefern, bleibt Beleuchtung die primäre Anforderung an so gut wie jede Photovoltaic Anlage.

Eine einzige sonnenbetriebene Lampe kann eine wirkliche Bereicherung für das Leben einer Familie in Entwicklungsländern darstellen. Aber diese Familien verfügen über die geringsten Einkommen auf der Welt. Also müssen der Grundhandelspreis und die Gesamtkosten für die Lebensdauer des Systems so niedrig wie möglich gehalten werden.

Dieses Ziel zu erreichen ist weit schwieriger als einfach die billigsten Komponenten zu kombinieren. Analytische Vergleiche der verschiedenen Elektrizitäts-Technologien offenbaren einige überraschende wirtschaftliche Gegebenheiten für System-Designer.

Beleuchtungstechnik
In kleinen Sonnen-Energiesystemen werden verschiedene Lampentechniken benutzt. Der Anschaffungspreis ist oft der entscheidende Faktor aber bei der Auswahl sollte die Wirtschaftlichkeit berücksichtigt werden, da ja diese die Kosten eines geeigneten Paneels und der Batterie beeinflussen.

Die Glühlampe
Gebräuchlich sind sehr kleine Glühlampen mit Selbstantrieb, die nicht mehr als 1 Watt haben. Diese Lampen sind sehr preisgünstig, versorgen aber mit einer spärlichen Beleuchtung bei sehr wenig Leistungsfähigkeit. Sie nutzen die teuren System Komponenten sehr wenig wie z.B. die Paneele und die Batterie und repräsentieren eine falsche Ersparnis.

Halogen
Diese fortschrittliche Glühlampen Technik ist eine substantielle Verbesserung der Leistungsfähigkeit gegenüber den Standard Glühbirnen - sie kommt aber immer noch zu kurz in Bezug auf andere Leuchtmittel. Ihre Leistungsdauer ist sehr anfällig für kleine Variationen in der Energieversorgung - sowohl über als auch unter ihrer normalen Grenzspannung.

Leuchtdiode
Die Technologie der Leuchtdiode hat in der letzten Dekade viele Fortschritte im Hinblick auf ihre Kompatibilität für Lichtversorgung gemacht - speziell in dem Bereich wo das Licht in konzentriertem Strahl gebraucht wird.

Hochleistungsleuchtdioden wie die 5 Watt Luxeon mit ihren in Glas gebündelten Teilen bleiben jedoch sehr teuer. Darüber hinaus erreicht ihre Leistungsfähigkeit gerade mal die einer gewöhnlichen fluoreszierenden Lampe. Die Effektivität kleinerer Luxeon Leuchtdioden ist immer noch niedriger und keine der rausgebrachten im Handel erhältlichen Luxeon Leistungsfähigkeiten erklären die Verluste in control circuity, die benötigt werden, um von dem Standard 12 Volt Stück zu konvertieren.

Konventionelle zusammengefasste Plastik Leuchtdioden haben ziemlich unscheinbare überzeugende Effektivität und bauen aufgrund von Lichtemissionen, die den Plastikkörper vergilben, sehr schnell ab.

Fluoreszierend
Dieses Gasentladende Gerät ist bereits als außerordentlich effektive Lichttechnologie etabliert. Der Fortschritt im Bereich der Phosphorchemie hat zu einer leichten Verbesserung der Leistungsfähigkeit geführt sie ist aber im Grunde genommen nun eine ausgereifte Technologie.

Die Leistungsfähigkeit der fluoreszierenden Lampe ist eine Frage /hängt im Allgemeinen von der Größe /ab. Große Lampen sind leistungsfähiger aufgrund der Tatsache, dass die Menge der zur Erwärmung der Elektroden genutzten Energie in längeren Gefäßen kleiner ist.

In der Regel gebrauchen kleine Sonnenenergiesysteme kompakte Fluoreszierende Technik im Umfang von 3 bis 11 Watt. Sie werden in großen Mengen hergestellt und erscheinen, um gute Werte zu repräsentieren da sie beide effektiv und einigermaßen günstig sind.

Leider bevorzugen sie stabile Arbeitsbedingungen und sind sehr von Abweichungen ihrer optimalen Eingangsspannung und der Umgebungstemperatur abhängig.

Batteriespannungen erreichen für gewöhnlich 15 Volt während Auftriebsphasen (boost phases) und unter 11 Volt bei Entladung. Viele kompakte Lampen überhitzen und versagen, wenn sie mehr als ein paar Minuten mit 15 Volt betrieben werden. Niedrige Spannungen zerstören die Elektroden aufgrund von unangemessener Hitze was eine Verdunklung der Röhre und einen Verlust von Leistungsfähigkeit zur Folge hat.

Kalt Kathode
Die Kalt Kathode ist eine fortgeschrittene Gasentladungstechnologie, die die höchst mögliche Leistungsfähigkeit mit weiteren wichtigen Zusatzvorteilen versorgt/darstellt.

Fluoreszierende Kalt Kathoden Röhren operieren mit viel mehr Spannung und weniger Strom (current) als herkömmliche fluoreszierende Lampen. Die höhere Spannung erübrigt es, die Röhre zu erhitzen während der niedrigere Strom die Lebensdauer der Entladungselektroden erheblich verlängert.

Der Verzicht auf die verschwenderischen erhitzenden Elektroden erlaubt selbst in einer kleinen Lampe eine hohe Leistungsfähigkeit - gewöhnlich 30 % mehr Leistungsfähigkeit als bei einer vergleichbaren fluoreszierenden Lampe.

Kalt Kathoden Lampen haben eine Lebenserwartung, die zweimal so hoch der einer gewöhnlichen kompakten fluoreszierenden Lampe ist. Sie sind zudem nicht abhängig von dem beschleunigten Abfall von Schwankungen der Spannungsversorgung. Die niedrigere Temperatur trägt zudem auch zu einer längeren Lebensdauer für assoziierten Elektroniken bei.

Kalt Kathoden Lampen können ohne Schädigung unendlich gedämmt werden. Ohne eine bestimmte Temperatur der Elektroden zu benötigen kann die Kalt Kathoden Lampe bis zu jeglicher gewünschten Helligkeit im Rahmen ihrer maximalen Fähigkeit betrieben werden. Sie können sogar dauerhaft in aufleuchtenden applications, die eine herkömmliche Fluoreszierende Lampe in einem Tag zerstören würden, betrieben werden.

Der einzige Nachteil dieser Kalt Kathoden Technologie sind die höheren Kosten bei der Herstellung. Diese hängen teilweise von der Komplexität beim Bau vertrauenswürdiger Elektronik für die hohe Röhren Spannung ab - sind aber auch von dem niedrigen Produktionsvolumen im Vergleich zu dem der herkömmlichen fluoreszierenden Lampen abhängig.

Einschätzung der Lebensperiode/-dauer des Systems
Unter guten Bedingungen kann ein Solar Paneel weit mehr als 15 oder 20 Jahre betrieben werden, diese Garantie gibt es heute schon auf viel kleinere Solar Paneele. Als der wertvollste und langandauernste Komponent legt sie zudem die Lebensdauer das Systems fest.

Ausgehend von 15 Jahren PV Lebensdauer des Systems muss die wiederaufladbare Batterie mehrere Male erneuert werden, was hohe Betriebskosten mit sich bringt. Die Lebensdauer der Batterie hängt von der Auf- und Entladregime ab aber für gewöhnlich muss eine normale SLA bei einer täglichen Entladung von über 50 % ihrer Kapazität alle zwei Jahre ersetzt werden.

Eine einfache Faustregel für das Zusammenpassen von Paneel und Batterie besagt, dass ungefähr 1 Watt der Solaraufladung jedem Amphour in einem 12 Volt Kraftsystem entspricht. Ein System unterstützt in der Regel 1 Watt der Lampenkraft für 4 Stunden pro Nacht für jedes Watt der Solar Paneel Kapazität.

Ausgehend von einem Einzelhandelspreis von US $2 pro Amphour für kleinere 12 Volt SLA Batterien und angenommenen US $ 10 pro Watt für kleinere Solar Paneele sind die Kosten der Batterie tatsächlich die höchsten für Lebensdauer in dem System.

Die Einsparung eines einzigen Watts in einer Lampe würden ungefähr $ 12 des Einkaufspreises des Paneels und der ersten Batterie ausgleichen und weitere $ 12 der Kosten zur Ersetzung der Batterie in Bezug gesehen auf 15 Lebensjahre des Systems.

Die neue 7 Watt Kalt Kathodenlampe der Firma Rainbow Power kann bis zu 3 Watt gegenüber einer vergleichbaren Standardkompakt fluoreszierenden Lampe einsparen was letztlich zu einer Gesamteinsparung von $ 72 führt.

Natürlich können die Verbesserungen im Bereich der Effektivität von Lampen wesentlich dazu beitragen, die Gesamtausgaben sowohl anfangs als auch über einen längeren Zeitraum gesehen zu senken. Umgekehrt kann ein mit Solarenergie betriebenes System wesentlich mehr Licht für die selben Kosten des Gebrauchs einer Lichtquelle höherer Leistungskraft bereitstellen.

Weitere Einsparungen können durch den Gebrauch der Dämmungsmöglichkeit der Kalt Kathode erreicht werden. Nützliches Licht kann zu weniger als der Hälfte des vollen Stroms bereitgestellt werden und stellt damit auch Möglichkeiten für die Verbraucher bereit, sich ihren Kraftverbrauch zuzuschneiden.

Darüber hinaus wird die Kalt Kathodenlampe gewöhnlich mehr als 15 Jahre brauchbar sein im Falle einer Nutzung von 4 Stunden pro Nacht. Die gewöhnliche fluoreszierende Lampe wird während dieser Periode zweimal ausgetauscht/ersetzt werden müssen - erfahrungsgemäß öfter, wenn sie Variationen im 12 Volt Betrieb ausgesetzt ist.

Das neue Angebot an wirtschaftlichen kompakt Kalt Kathoden Lampen der Firma Rainbow Power stellt eine wertvolle/lohnenswerte Investition in jede Photovoltic Anlage dar. Sie bilden einen wichtigen Teil eines jeden klein Leuchtsystems dar und stellen ausgedehnte Lebensdauer bereit. Sie minimieren/senken zudem die fortlaufenden Kosten, die die größte Hürde der effektiven Nutzung von PV Lichtsystemen durch die ärmsten Menschen der Welt darstellen.

We install solar systems in Northern NSW and Southern QLD.


QLD:
Gold Coast (from Coolangatta to Southport), Nerang and Hinterland (Beaudesert) and out West (Warwick, Stanthorpe, Killarney)


NSW:
Northern NSW (Tweed Heads to Yamba, including Evans Head, Byron Bay and Ballina); the Far North Coast Hinterland (Grafton via Lismore to Murwillumbah) and out West (Casino to Tenterfield, including Drake and Tabulam, as well as Woodenbong and Bonalbo)

For larger system we also go up to Brisbane or down to Coffs Harbour and even Glen Innes. Other places by arrangement.

High Efficiency Lighting

Rural electrification schemes using solar power generation are being implemented all over the developing world. Generally, electricity grids are not practical due to remote locations, impassable terrain and the high cost of transmission installation.

Although many stand-alone systems also provide power for refrigeration, radio and television, lighting remains the primary requirement for virtually every photovoltaic system.

A single solar-powered lamp can provide a real enhancement to the life a family in developing countries. However these families have some of the lowest disposable incomes in the world. Both the initial purchase price and the total life cycle cost of the system must be kept as low as possible.

Achieving this outcome is far more complex than simply combining the cheapest available components. Comparative analysis of various lighting technologies reveals some surprising economic realities for system designers.

LIGHTING TECHNOLOGIES
Several lamp technologies are used in small solar lighting systems. Purchase price is often the deciding factor but the choice should take into account the efficiency since this will affect the cost of an appropriate panel and battery.

INCANDESCENT
Very small automotive incandescent lamps of around one Watt are common. These lamps are very cheap but provide a meagre illumination at very poor efficiency. They make poor use of the expensive system components such as the panel and battery and represent false economy.

HALOGEN
This advanced incandescent technology is a substantial efficiency improvement over standard incandescent bulbs but still falls well short of other lighting equipment. Their service life is highly susceptible to small variations in supply voltage both above and below their nominal rating.

LED
Light emitting diode (LED) technology has made enormous advances over the past decade to the point where they have become practical for lighting applications particularly where the light is required in a concentrated beam.

LEDs can provide a bright highly focused light with a very high intensity (measured in lux) in a small area making them suitable for lighting a desk. However the total light produced (measured in lumens) is not very high so they are ineffective at lighting up a room.

However, high performance LEDs such as the 5W Luxeon glass encapsulated devices remain very expensive. Moreover, their efficiency is yet to reach that of an ordinary fluorescent lamp. The efficiency of smaller Luxeon LEDs is lower still and none of the published Luxeon efficiencies account for the losses in control circuitry required to convert from the standard 12-volt supply.

Conventional plastic encapsulated LEDs have quite unimpressive efficiencies and degrade rather quickly due to light emissions yellowing the plastic body.

FLUORESCENT
This gas discharge device is well established as a high-efficiency lighting technology. Progress in phosphor chemistry has led to a slow improvement in efficiency but it is essentially now a mature technology.

Fluorescent lamp efficiency is generally a function of size. Large lamps are more efficient at least in part because the proportion of energy used to heat the electrodes is smaller in a longer tube. It is problematic to produce a low-powered lamp while maintaining high efficiency.

Generally, small solar lighting systems use compact fluorescent technology in a range of sizes from 3 Watts to 11 Watts. They are made in vast numbers and appear to represent good value, as they are both reasonably efficient and relatively cheap.

In an effort to save power some small compact lamps dispense with heating the electrodes. However the savings are offset by reduced discharge efficiency and accelerated electrode damage. Although the lamps continue to function, their brightness degrades more rapidly as electrode material is deposited onto the phosphors.

Fluorescent lamps require stable working conditions and are rapidly degraded by variations from their optimum input voltage and ambient temperature.

Battery voltages typically reach 15 volts during boost phases and below 11 Volts when discharged. Many compact lamps overheat and fail if operated at 15 volts for more than a few minutes. Low voltages damage the tube electrodes due to insufficient heating resulting in internal blackening of the tube and a fall in efficiency.

Small systems for developing countries often incorporate a substantial fluorescent lamp for the main lighting task and very low Wattage "night-light". The night-light is used to save power when the full illumination is not required. Generally, an LED lamp would be used for this purpose. However LED lamps are relatively expensive, only being justified because they offset the generation and storage costs of running a larger lamp when only low-level lighting is required.

COLD CATHODE
Cold cathode is an advanced gas discharge fluorescent technology, which provides the highest possible efficiency along with several important additional benefits.

Cold cathode fluorescent tubes operate at a much higher voltage and lower current than conventional fluorescent lamps. The higher voltage overcomes the need to heat the tube while the lower current greatly extends the life of the discharge electrodes and associated phosphor degradation.

Dispensing with the wasteful heated electrodes allows high efficiency to be achieved in a small lamp, typically ten to 30 percent more efficient than a comparable fluorescent lamp.

Cold cathode lights have a life expectancy more than twice that of typical compact fluorescent lamps and do not suffer accelerated degradation from variations in supply voltage.

Cold cathode lamps can be dimmed to any point without damage. Without the need for precise electrode temperature the cold cathode lamp can be operated at any desired brightness up to their maximum rating. They can even be continuously operated in flashing applications that would destroy a conventional fluorescent lamp in a day.

The only disadvantage of the cold cathode technology is the higher cost of manufacture. This is partly due to the special transformers for the high tube voltage but also due to low production volume compared to the conventional fluorescent lamps.

SYSTEM LIFE CYCLE ASSESSMENT
The full lifetime cost of all components should be taken into account when selecting equipment for solar lighting systems. Factors that affect the life expectancy of consumable components such as batteries and lamps can have a large influence on life cycle costs.

Fortunately a good quality solar panel will typically last beyond the 15 to 20 year guarantees now available even on small solar panels. As the most valuable and long lasting component, it also defines the system lifespan.

For the purpose of the exercise, consider a small PV lighting system with a sealed lead-acid battery (SLA). The actual savings will depend on the design details and size of the system but the basic principle of investment in high efficiency holds regardless.

A simple rule of thumb for matching panel to battery is approximately one Watt of solar charge for each Amp-hour in a 12-volt power system. A system will generally support one Watt of lamp power for four hours per night for each Watt of solar panel capacity.

During a 15 year PV system life, the rechargeable battery will need to be replaced several times making it a major operating expense. The battery life depends on the charge and discharge regime but typically the battery would need to be replaced every two years with a daily discharge of about 50 percent of its capacity.

At a retail cost of say US$2 per Amp-hour for small 12-volt SLA batteries and say US$10 per Watt for small solar panels, the battery cost is actually the largest life cycle cost in the system.

Saving just a single Watt in one lamp will offset nearly $12 in purchase price of panel and first battery and a further $12 in battery replacement costs over the 15 year life of the system.

Clearly, improvements in lamp efficiency can substantially reduce overall expenditure both initially and over the long term. Conversely a solar energy system can provide substantially more light for the same cost by using higher efficiency lighting.

FURTHER ADVANTAGES
Dimmable cold cathode lamps can fulfil both primary and night-light functions in a single lamp. Moreover, choice is not limited to the bright fluorescent lamp or the feeble LED. The level of illumination can be precisely selected by the consumer to suit their need at the time.

Useful light can be provided at a fraction of the full current yet still exceed the efficiency of an LED lamp. This feature provides the greatest opportunity to save energy by allowing the consumer to precisely tailor their power consumption throughout the night.

Moreover, the cold cathode lamp will typically last for the 15 year life of the system when used four hours a night. The conventional fluorescent will need to be replaced twice during this period, considerably more often if subjected to variation from the specified 12-volt operation.

The operational costs of the system are then limited to the battery replacement alone, making cold cathode lighting extremely attractive in systems set up by aid programs.

Rainbow Power Company's compact cold cathode fluorescent lamps as well as the Sundaya Ulita & Ulitium range represents a valuable investment in any photovoltaic system. They form an essential part of any small lighting system, providing extended service life and minimising the ongoing costs that represent the greatest hurdle to effective use of PV lighting systems by the world's poorest people.


We install solar systems in Northern NSW and Southern QLD.


QLD:
Gold Coast (from Coolangatta to Southport), Nerang and Hinterland (Beaudesert) and out West (Warwick, Stanthorpe, Killarney)


NSW:
Northern NSW (Tweed Heads to Yamba, including Evans Head, Byron Bay and Ballina); the Far North Coast Hinterland (Grafton via Lismore to Murwillumbah) and out West (Casino to Tenterfield, including Drake and Tabulam, as well as Woodenbong and Bonalbo)

For larger system we also go up to Brisbane or down to Coffs Harbour and even Glen Innes. Other places by arrangement.